lip care.

I honestly think that lip care is something we often forget to include in our skincare and beauty routine. But why? I don’t know about you guys but my lips take more of a beating than my skin does. Aside from the fact that Melbourne is like the windiest place ever, I don’t really help the situation by constantly wearing matte lipsticks. In fact I think I only own about three regular lipsticks, everything else is either liquid lipsticks or just matte formulas.

IMG_5505.jpg

Lush sugar lip scrubs – Popcorn and Bubblegum
Eve Lom Kiss Mix
Go-To Skincare Lips!

Before I even think of putting any liquid lipsticks on my lips I always exfoliate them. Not only does this make the lipstick sit better on your lips but it helps to reduce the risk of drying them out to the point of being prunes. Nothing feels better than exfoliating your skin so why not do the same for your precious little lips? Because I’m just a super lazy bitch I buy lip scrubs, but they’re super easy to make. All you need is pretty much sugar and a binding oil. But if you’re like me and you can’t be f**ked making some then head to Lush and pick these up cus they’re amazing… the popcorn actually tastes like popcorn and the bubblegum tastes and smells like redskins (the lolly).

I get sucked in pretty easily at MECCA by the staff, so when I went in looking for a lip primer or product that would help with keeping my lips hydrated while wearing lipsticks the girl took me to the Eve Lom section. For those of you not aware this brand is hella expensive but this stuff felt amazing despite the price tag. I don’t know if I’d repurchase this only cus it’s pretty expensive for what it is.

Last but not least is my absolute favourite lip balm of all time, Go-To Skincare ‘Lips!’. I mean I’ve got three of them and two are basically empty so it’s pretty obvious I’m in a committed relationship with these lip balms. This stuff is the only thing that hydrates my lips effectively. It soaks in really quickly and doesn’t leave you with that gross slimy feeling. I gave up on Paw Paw cream as soon as I got a tube of this stuff.

2 thoughts on “lip care.

  1. I have tried the Lush Popcorn lip scrub, but I think these tend to be hyped up and in the end, I just couldn’t keep up with my lip care routine. If I remember to apply lip balm I will, otherwise I just avoid it, which is bad!
    I have never used any Eve Lom products, but I do know how expensive and probably over priced these skincare products can be.
    As for Go-to skincare, well, I have managed to use almost all but 1 on that website. It is an awesome skincare line that I will easily end up going back to from time to time. You’ve got some good products here, but like you, I am a big fan of the Aussie brand! 🙂 x

    Caryl – http://carylalmelor.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

