recent loves.

So over the past few months while studying in my final year of uni I have been going a bit HAM on the makeup and skincare purchases. Trust me my bank account is legit crying I’ve been abusing it so much. I try to have some level of self control but when I’m stressed or upset I shop, that’s my therapy and time alone. Aside from going to the gym, shopping is the time I get alone, a time to myself. I love not having to speak to anyone or care about anything. Seeing as though I’ve been f**king lazy with posting anything, not that anyone has missed me, I thought I’d throw up a little something about some makeup and skincare stuffs I’ve been loving.

image1-2.jpg

Colourpop – Lippiestix Matte X, Pillow talk; Lip Liner, Tootsi; Matte Super Shock Shadow, Cornelius; Pearlized Super Shock Shadow, KathleenLights.
Ofra – Liquid Lipstick, Staten Island.
Bare Minerals – Complexion rescue gel
Maybelline – Age Rewind dark circle eraser, under eye concealer.
Real Techniques – Large Powder Brush.
Soap & Glory – Hand food, hand cream; Righteous Butter, body moisturiser.

So this little collection is rather random but I have been loving these. I have to admit I was given the brush a few days ago by a friend but I love it already and I’ve been dying for a good large powder brush. As for everything else well I’ve been using it and loving it.
Colourpop makes such amazing products for such a tiny price. Even though I have to get this shit shipped all the way to Australia it’s totally worth the shipping fee. Because cosmetic products are so expensive down under, sourcing products online is always a cheaper option. My lipstick collection from Colourpop is f**king huge, BUT I have fallen in love with the formula of their eye shadows. They are so buttery and creamy, like almost a cream shadow. All their shadows are individual because of the formula, these suckers will dry up instantly if left open too long so shut them tight. I found these apply best with a finger and then blended with a blending brush. As for the Lippiestix, well these bad boys are well loved and talked about. The new MatteX formula is amazing, although I’ve heard there are some hit and miss colours. Pillow Talk is beautiful and instantly plums the lips, using a lip liner helps prolong the life on the lips. My favourite lip liner by Colourpop at the moment is Tootsi, this is a gorgeous grey/brown/nude that works pretty well under a lot of nude brown shades. I love this liner paired with the Ofra liquid lipstick in Staten Island. Seriously this lipstick actually makes my lips look larger, for realsies. I love the formula of Ofra liquid lipsticks, they are mousey and light and just amazing. They don’t dry the lips and don’t sink into the fine lines of your lips. Although I always use lip liner with liquid lipsticks because they can be super drying.

So my little rant is gonna happen here… I recently purchased the much talked about NARS velvet matte skin tint, and I had such high hopes for this because NARS is a great brand and I love their lipsticks, contour duo and concealer. But I did not love the skin tint. It just dried out my skin, and I usually have oily skin so that’s definitely a task. It broke up and caked all over my face. So I exchanged that for the Bare Minerals complexion rescue gel, this stuff had pretty good reviews and Estee Lalonde loves this stuff so it has to be good. I have been loving this stuff. It applies beautifully and can be built up to a medium coverage without being cakey.
On top of this I have been loving the Maybelline dark circle eraser. This shit is the actual shit. It hides my dark circles without being thick and heavy. It’s just beautiful and easy to apply and doesn’t crease that much, especially if I set it with a powder. And using my Real Techniques powder brush is the perfect partner for this. I have been searching forever for a nice large powder brush and the other day my friend gave me this… what a gem!

I have never tried Soap & Glory but have always heard wonderful things about their products. So I thought I’d pick up a few mini travel size products from MECCA. I have to say these little babies are wonderful for my disgusting dry winter skin. I usually have pretty good skin but during the Melbourne winter it just dies and cracks, especially my hands. In my job I have to wash my hands almost every five minutes so the Hand Food is literally hand food, my hands soak that shit up like no bodies business. As for the body butter, it’s really thick but not greasy and just soaks into the skin really quickly.

Leave a Reply

