seeing double.

As of late I have been trying to find cheaper or just different dupes for various well loved products. Some of the doubles I’ve purchased have actually been the more expensive of the two but I’m honestly just trying to figure out which thing is better. I am a fiend for watching dupe videos on YouTube so I figured I may as well share my thoughts on some dupes.
Side note…. some of these aren’t exact dupes they’re merely products that do similar things or are packaged in a similar way. You’ll get my meaning as we go on.

IMG_5803
Sukin Hydrating Mist Toner 
Avene Thermal Spring Water; 

Ok so these two things aren’t exactly the same but I have been wanting to try out the Avene Thermal Spring Water for quite some time but always thought it was a waste of money. I mean at the end of the day it’s nothing more than posh water in a can, so naturally I purchased it during the Priceline 40% off skincare sale. I don’t think I’d pay full price for the thermal water, only cus it’s way over priced and doesn’t really do anything special. Don’t get me wrong this stuff is really refreshing post workout or when my skin is starting to feel a little wind swept and dry during this winter. I must admit I really love the packaging and the spray mechanism but it’s still not really worth the price.
As for the Sukin Mist Toner, well, this stuff is a hidden gem of wonderfulness. I use this after washing my face before I moisturise and all that jazz. I love how this makes my skin feel. As most traditional toners have alcohol in them they can make your skin feel tight and crappy. However this little bottle of liquid gold is filled with gentle natural ingredients that don’t seem to tighten my skin. This stuff just refreshes my skin and makes it feel so soft. I will say I wish the spray mechanism was a little sturdier as sometimes it just squirts instead of misting over my face.

Go-to skincare Lips! Lanolips 101 ointment; 

So I am a die hard fan of Go-to skincare and Zoe Foster-Blake, but I do find it difficult when I start running out of certain products. I usually try and order multiples or try to do a bulk order at once but I’m not really running out of anything else except my lip balm so I had to try something else. Lanolips and Go-to Lips! work on the same principle, both make their product using lanolin. For those of you who don’t know lanolin is an extract from sheep’s wool, bit gross but very absorbent and nourishing to the skin not just lips. The reason both companies advertise the use of lanolin so heavily is because it both creates a protective barrier but absorbs beautifully at the same time. Once upon a time long ago I used to love Lucas Paw Paw ointment, but eventually I found that it was just sitting on my lips without actually doing anything for the dry cracked mess. Everything changed when I tried out Lips! Pretty sure I’ve spoken about my love of this before so I won’t repeat myself again.
As for Lanolips well I think I may have discovered a new substitute for when I’m running out of Lips! and can’t be bothered paying for shipping. The 101 ointment is designed to give you 101 uses….get it. I have the traditional 101 ointment which is made purely from lanolin… that’s right one ingredient. It has not scent, no taste, no nothing, just absorption goodness. I also have the strawberry ointment aimed at lips but I haven’t opened it yet. I’m sure it does the same thing though.

Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder RCMA No Colour Powder; 

I have recently spoken about my love for the Laura Mercier powder so I won’t go into detail. All I’ll say is that it is wonderful at setting your under eye makeup. It’s silky smooth and leaves the skin feeling so soft. I also like to use this to set my whole face.
Now onto the second product… Finally after months of deliberation and constantly adding and deleting this product from my cart I finally decided to get the RCMA No Colour Powder. This shit is raved about more than Chris Hemsworth’s abs. The RCMA powder is made from two ingredients – talc & silica. Yes as of late we’re all supposed to be scared of talc but I’ve never had an issue with it and it can be hard to find powders that don’t include it.
My first time using the RCMA powder left me underwhelmed. I tried using it to bake (which I have never done before) and it dried my under eyes so much! My under eyes aren’t particularly sensitive so I was really surprised to have this issue. However I have decided that the dryness was caused by being sick for three days (which dries out my skin heaps!) and heaping on a bunch of powder didn’t really help the issue. Since that fail of a night I have been giving this powder a decent go. I will say I am coming around on this product. It sets my under eyes amazingly. However I still love my Laura Mercier powder more for setting my whole face. For me the Mercier powder leaves my skin with a more velvety feeling. I have to say I won’t be running out of loose powder any time soon. Seriously the RCMA tub is f**kin huge! I was so scared I wouldn’t like it, it would have been such a waste for the size. Minor point, I hate the packaging of the RCMA powder, it’s really awkward getting product. I use the cap to get the powder. If you’re looking for a basic, hard working loose powder for cheap then definitely try the RCMA powder.

Bondi Sands Everyday Gradual Tanning Foam Bondi Sands Everyday Gradual Tanning Milk

I am aware this is comparing the same brand… However Bondi Sand recently released a new gradual tanner. This time it’s in foam form. I’ve been using the gradual tanning milk for about 8 months and I do really like it, both as a moisturiser and a tanning product. BUT I’m always ready try something else.
My first time using the gradual foam was strange. This product doesn’t moisturise your skin like the tanning milk, but it does leave you with a more natural looking subtly developing colour. I found the foam easier to work with and it definitely dries faster than the tanning milk. The gradual tanning milk is definitely better at moisturising and nourishing your skin, but I have always had an issue with the colour it leaves after too  much use. I have preferred using the milk as a means of prolonging the life of a full fake tan. However I will be trying out the foam with a heavy duty tanning mousse to see if it prolongs a tan better than the milk.

Leave a Reply

